who are we

Awesome Autumn

I went to the cinema last night and was wearing a jumper and wished that I had remembered to take my coat. This is a tiny, uninteresting detail but it made me really happy as it means that Autumn is truly coming. Sure, we are in that odd patch in September when there is a heatwave on some days and thunder storms at other times, but the evenings are definitely getting cooler. The leaves on the trees are beginning to change colour and this afternoon I am going on a conker hunt.

I love autumn. There is an awesome quote from You’ve Got Mail:

“Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

I think that sums it all up perfectly, there is something wonderful about autumn. It’s like New Year, you get to start over if you want to, but without all the pressures that you feel in January.  There is a wonderful sense that a new notebook or sweater can really change your day for the better.

I guess we never lose that feeling of a new school year. The traffic and people patterns have already changed to show that the schools are back and, living in a city with two universities, we now get to welcome the students back. It should make me feel old but instead I love how alive things feel as more people arrive. There is more energy and a sense of excitement and anticipation in the air.

I know that some people lament the end of summer but I cannot wait for the temperatures to be under 20 most days. I want to wear jackets and jumpers and cardigans and scarves. I want to be able to visit local places, like the New Forest, when there are less tourists and holidaymakers getting the way. I want to be able to light candles and fires without feeling ridiculous. It’s hard to pinpoint why, or what, but I LOVE autumn. It’s sunny but not hot. In fact, I’m off to enjoy it right now.

Leave a Reply

